After Dance with France camp today

Zaeden comes out of the dance class and says to Daddy, “I’m going to marry Elinor, for REAL!”

D: “Oh, yeah. Ha ha.”

Z: “Yeah, it says it in here.” (Holding up his Dreams and Goals booklet.)

D: “Usually, you ask the dad if you can marry the daughter and I’m Elinor’s dad.”

Z: “Oh, OK. Can I marry Elinor?”

D: “Maybe you should wait until you are older.”

Z: “Yeah, I’m waiting until 10 years from now, when I’m 15 and all grown up.”

D: “Maybe you should wait a little bit longer than that.”

Naushin walks in and Zaeden tells him, “Hey Dad, I’m moving to Maui.” 

N: “Can you take me with you?” 

Z: “And, I”m going to marry Elinor, for REAL!” Etc.

N: “Maybe you should wait until you move out of the house, pay some bills and live on your own for a bit.”

D: “Yeah, experience the bachelor or life for awhile. You don’t want to miss that.”

Z: “Well, we’re just doing it for practice.”

After chatting a bit longer, Naushin and Zaeden leave but Zaeden runs back in and says, “But I can marry Elinor, right, for real?”

D: “As long as it’s just for practice.”

Z: “OK, good. Bye.”

Elinor doesn’t say a thing the entire time. She just sits there. 

Asking her later, she says, “Yup.” She wants to marry Zaeden too.

Leave a Reply

